• Helpline: +91-8058868746
  • Mail us:
    Tutorial Library

Learning Point

Marathi Language

Previous Next

Introduction of Marathi Language

Marathi is the official language of the state of Maharashtra. It is an Indo-Aryan language spoken by the Marathi people of western India. The 4th most spoken language in India and the 15th most spoken language in the world, Marathi have almost 90 million fluent speakers worldwide. It is spoken in India, Israel and Mauritius. Marathi speaking population is also found in United States, Suriname, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Netherlands, Canada, UAE, South Africa, Israel, Pakistan Singapore, Germany, UK, Australia and New Zealand.



According to the written historical evidences, Marathi language was believed to date at 8th century. It also became significant court language. Even it contains many novels, books and poems on it. Later on in many years it adapt the language of Marathi and also it grasped many modifications into it and in the end it became an official language. It includes Maharashtri Prakrit. Marathi language was initially copied from Sanskrit language. Moreover Marathi was the executive language earlier and therefore it was given a high legendary level. Furthermore it was widely used in western India. This language last for several hundred years and formed a noteworthy link in the progress of Marathi.



The major dialect division is Ahirani, Varhadi, Vadvali, Zadi boli and Samavedi. The academic and even the print media use the standard form of Marathi dialects. Moreover the major dialect of Marathi language is Warhadi Marathi and Standard Marathi. 42 dialects are recognised by the Indian scholars of Marathi language. Other major dialects include are Nagri, Dangi, Satari or Deshi. All the districts of Maharashtra have different dialects of Marathi language.


Writing System

In 11th century written Marathi language was first prepared in form of inscriptions, stones and copper plates. Also the Marathi devnagri alphabet is called Balbodh. Moreover the Hindi devanagri alphabet is similar to Marathi devanagri alphabet. From 13nth to mid 20th century, Marathi was written in Modi script. Later in 1950, Marathi language finally contains 16 initial vowel letters and 36 consonants.


school-chalao-marathi-language2 image


Very Useful (0)

Useful (0)

Not Useful (0)