• Helpline: +91-8058868746
  • Mail us:
    Tutorial Library
Home > Learning Point > Sports education > Boxing > Top Champions Of Boxing In India

Learning Point








    Bull Riding

    Carrom Board

    Competitive Climbing




    Discus Throw


    Drag Racing




    High Jump


    Horse Racing




    Kick Boxing

    Lawn Bowling

    Mixed Martial Arts





    Roller Hockey

    Roller Skating



    Sky Surfing



    Table Tennis





Top Champions Of Boxing In India


1. Mary Kom- 

Birth name Mangte chungneijang. Full name Mangte Chungneijang Mary Kom and nickname is "Magnificent Mary", also known as MC Mary Kom. Born in 1 March 1983 Kangathei, Manipur, India. She is an Indian boxer and residence Inmphal, Manipur, India. She is a five-time World Amateur Boxing champion, and the only woman boxer to have won a medal in each one of the six world championships. She became the first Indian woman boxer to get a Gold Medal in the Asian Games in 2014 in Incheon, South Korea. On 26 April 2016, she was nominated by the President of India as a member of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian parliament, India.


                                                                   school-chalao-boxing-champions-india1 image


2. Vijender Singh-

Real name is Vijender Singh Beniwal, he has born on 28 October 1985 Kaluwas village, Bhiwani district, Haryana, India. He is an Indian boxer. In 2009, he participated at the World Amateur Boxing Championships where he won the bronze medal. In the same year, the International Boxing Association (AIBA) announced Vijender as the top-ranked boxer in its annual middleweight category list with 2800 points. Vijender represented India at the London 2012 Olympic Games. Vijender was given a number of awards, including the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award—India's highest sporting honour and Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian honour. On 29 June 2015, Vijender Singh bid adieu to his amateur career by turning professional as he signed a multi-year agreement with Queensberry Promotions through IOS Sports and Entertainment. This ruled him out of 2016 Olympics.


                                                                    school-chalao-boxing-champions-india2 image


3. Akhil Kumar-  

Akhil kumar, born in 27 March 1981, Faizabad, Uttar Pradesh, India. Residence Rohtak, Haryana, India. He is an Indian boxer who has won several international and national boxing awards. He practices an “open guarded” boxing style. In 2005, the Indian government gave him the Arjuna Award for his achievements in international boxing.


                                                                    school-chalao-boxing-champions-india3 image


4. Hawa Singh-

Captain Hawa Singh (December 16, 1937 in Umarwas, Haryana – August 14, 2000, in Bhiwani, Haryana) was an Indian Heavyweight boxer, who dominated Indian and Asian amateur boxing for a decade in his weight class. He won the Asian Games gold medal in Heavyweight category in consecutive editions of the games in the 1966 Asiad and the 1970 Asiad both held in Bangkok, Thailand - a feat unmatched by any Indian boxer to date (August 2008). He won the National Championships in the Heavyweight category a record 11 consecutive times — from 1961 to 1972. He is best remembered today for being the founder of the Bhiwani Boxing Club (BBC), which came to the limelight in 2008 in India for producing 4 out of 5 boxers of the Indian boxing contingent to the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, including the Olympic medallist Vijender Singh.


                                                                   school-chalao-boxing-champions-india4 image


5. Jitender Kumar-

Jitender Kumar (born July 18, 1988, Sisar Khas, Rohtak, Haryana, India) is an Indian flyweight boxer. Residence Bhiwani Haryana. Jitender Kumar is an Indian flyweight boxer. He won the bronze medal in the flyweight category at the 2006 Commonwealth Games. He represented India at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing. Jitender signed up with Managing Image Sports and Talent - MIST pvt ltd. in 2013 to look after his promotional work and all off-ring assignments.


                                                                           school-chalao-boxing-champions-india5 image


6. Mohammed Ali Qamar-

Mohammed Ali Qamar is a boxer from Kolkata, India. He was the first Indian to win a gold medal in the discipline of boxing in the Commonwealth Games at the 2002 Commonwealth Games held in Manchester. Born into the Ghettoes of Kidderpore in Kolkata, Qamar was inducted into boxing at an early age by his father at the Kidderpore School of Physical Education and was coached by Cheena Bhai. Qamar became the Inter-district champion in the state of West Bengal in 1991. He won the Light Flyweight category at the national sub-junior levels from 1992 to 1996. Qamar had a strong showing in the 1999 World Amateur Boxing Championships in Houston, reaching the quarter finals before losing to Ron Siler of the United States. At the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester, Qamar upset the home favorite Darren Langley 27-25 in the final, outscoring Langley 10-3 and surviving a standing count in the dramatic final round after trailing by 5 points at the beginning of the fourth and last round. Qamar's career was plagued by injury and he did not win a major competition again, losing in the quarterfinals at the 2002 Asian Games at Pusan.


                                                                                          school-chalao-boxing-champions-india6 image


7. Pu Zoramthanga-

Zoramthanga (also known as Zoram Thanga or T. Zoramthanga, born as Run Nawn Thang, 1963– 9 February 2005, Falama, Chin State, Myanmar, India) was an amateur boxer who is remembered as the first Indian to win a bronze medal at the Boxing World Cup.


                                                                                            school-chalao-boxing-champions-india7 image


Very Useful (0)

Useful (0)

Not Useful (0)