• Helpline: +91-8058868746
  • Mail us:
    Tutorial Library
Home > Learning Point > Sports education > Pool > Champions Of Pool

Learning Point

Champions of pool


World pool and billiard association is the highest governing body of Pool Billiards that is organized all over the world. Apart from this, all participating nations have their own governing bodies too, that decide the rules for Pool.

Here is a list of some of the important internationally recognized championships for Pool and Billiards.

  • World Billiards Championships
  • US Open 9 Ball Championships
  • US Amateur Championships
  • The Dynamic Billiard European Championships
  • PBSA National 8 Ball Championships

Let us now discuss briefly about some of the champions of this game and their careers.

Mick Hill

Mick Hill is a pool player from England who has won WEPF Eight-ball Pool in 2004, 2010, and 2015. Mick debuted in this sport from Dudley and in 1996, he was selected in English Junior team for European Championships. The team won a bronze medal in the championship.

In July 2010, he won World Eight-ball Pool Federation World Championship. In 2015, he defeated Nigel Clarke in the World Championship. He also participated in 2016 World Championship in China but lost in the final.

Dennis Orcollo

Dennis Orcollo is a pool player from Philippines. He started plating and practicing pool at the age of eight and in 2002, he participated in WPA World Nine-ball Championship and attained 17th rank.

In 2006, he won many tournaments in USA which include Reno Open, Hard Times Nine-ball Tournament, and two bar table events. In the same year, he won World Pool League Tournament.

In 2007, he lost the final of WPA World Eight-ball Championship but won the same event in 2011.In 2016, he won US Open Straight Pool Championship.

Ronato Alcano

Ronato Alcano is a pool player from Philippines. He started his career through Rising Stars Tournament. He lost in the finals of the tournament but gave a tough fight to the opponent Edgar Acaba. In 2002, he won five tournaments in Joss Tour. In 2005, he won Manila Tournament during WPA Asian Nine-ball Tour.

In the same tour he also qualified for World Championship. In 2006, he won WPA Men’s World Nine-ball Championship. Alcano won WPA World Eight-ball Championship in which he defeated Dennis Orcollo. In the same year, he participated in Philippine Nine-ball Open and ranked second.

Niels Feijen

Niels Feijen is a pool player from Netherlands. In 2001, Feijen participated in a nine ball tournament held in Tokyo but lost in the final.

Feijen won Skins Billiards Championship in 2004. He also participated in European Straight Pool Championship and won it five times.

In 2005, he won Big Apple Nine-ball Classic Championship and in 2007, he won International Challenge of Champions. In 2010, he won World Straight Pool Championship and WPA World Ten-ball Championship.

Very Useful (0)

Useful (0)

Not Useful (0)