• Helpline: +91-8058868746
  • Mail us:
    Tutorial Library
Home > Learning Point > Indian Cultural And Festivals > Indian Languages > Introduction Of Indian Languages

Learning Point

Introduction of Indian languages


The Constitution of India designates the official language of the Government of India as Hindi written in the Devanagari script, as well as English. Hindi and English are used for official purposes such as parliamentary proceedings, judiciary, communications between the Central Government and a State Government. States within India have the liberty and powers to specify their own official language(s) through legislation and therefore there are 22 officially recognized languages in India. The number of native Hindi speakers ranges between 14.5 and 24.5% in total Indian population, however, other dialects of Hindi termed as Hindi languages are spoken by nearly 45% of Indians, mostly accounted from the states falling under the Hindi belt. Other Indian languages are each spoken by around 10% or less of the population.

The remaining part of the people speaking different languages, particularly in the East, Bengali being the language and the southern part of the country speaking four distinct and different Dravidian languages, viz., Tamil, Telugu, Kanada and Malayalam, apart from Tulu in some region,  each of these languages spoken predominantly in these States, which are in fact formed on the basis of  the language factor only, even ignoring other aspects of  Geographical advantages, the Central Government has opted to pronounce English also as the Official language, which provides a beautiful link among  all the citizens of the country hailing from different regions.

Many people in India are also concerned with the Language Sanskrit, which was the language of the vedic period in this country, the language in which the great epics of the country Ramayan and Mahabharat had been scripted, becoming almost extinct, while a section of people who love this language are making  best efforts to revamp  and rejuvenate this language.

With Hindi declared as the Country’s Official language, most of the States in India, have the regional languages as their official language, along with English, as a second official language, it is another interesting point that there are different dialects for the same language in different parts of the region or State, in some cases quite different from the basic language pattern.


school-chalao-indian-language1 image


Very Useful (0)

Useful (0)

Not Useful (0)